I don’t know about you, but I have very thin and brittle nails. As much as I would try to let them grow and treat them well, nothing seemed to help. The only solution to my problem was to keep polish on them, but we know that’s not always a good solution.

As you may remember, I have one obsession… YouTube beauty videos, that’s right, beauty videos on YouTube. Call me a nerd! Anyway, one of the gals that I follow LovelyShopGirl (Amanda) posted a video on how she got her nails to grow and be stronger (her channel is down at the moment therefore I cannot link it).

Here’s how to create your own DIY Nail strengthener and Growth Potion.

The ingredients are simple, here’s what you will need:

Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear

Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear - my favorite base nail coat

1 bottle of clear nail polish

1 clove of garlic – finely chopped

Finely chopped garlic

Finely chopped garlic

You guessed it, add the finely chopped garlic to the bottle of clear polish and let it “ferment” for at least a week.

Fermented DIY Garlic Polish

Fermented DIY Garlic Polish

Once the week is up, apply two coats to your bare clean nails as a base, everyday for a week. The way Amanda explained it, was that she would add a coat everyday for a week (or two) then take it off and start all over, again.

I didn’t feel like having shiny clear nails for up to two weeks, so I would apply the “garlic” clear polish to my “naked” nails, let it dry, then add whatever nail polish I was going to use. Two or three days later I would take that polish off and do it all over again with a different color polish… on and off for about two months. I am happy to report that my nails have indeed grown and are much stronger than they use to be.

My nails

My nails

To this day, I continue to use the “garlic” polish as a base every time I do my nails.

Hope to give this simple DIY nail strengthener and growth potion a try.

~Cat~

