Lets admit it, I think most of us can attest to having at least one guilty pleasure. Myself, I’ll admit I read the entire Twilight Saga throughout the course of two weeks, I secretly lip synch to Selena Gomez’s, “Love You Like a Love Song” and I might regret admitting to this in a minute, but I can’t get enough of Pretty Little Liars. It is no surprise that when a friend tried persuading me into reading The Hunger Games (the first book in the latest young adult book series and soon to be released movie) it didn’t take much convincing.

Let me start by telling you that this book is definitely not for everyone, but I highly recommend it. Comparable to a modern day Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games takes place in post-apocalypse North America or as they call it in the book Panem.

I’ll try not to divulge too much information but every year teenagers (ages 12-18) from the 12 districts of Panem (comparable to our states) must enter a drawing where two teenagers are chosen at random as tributes to partake in the annual Hunger Games. In the Hunger Games, the 24 tributes are placed in an arena where they are to fend for themselves and kill each other, while their every move is broadcast via television for everyone’s entertainment. The last tribute standing wins the Hunger Games.

The book follows the story of Katniss Everdeen, a brave young girl who volunteers as a tribute in place of her little sister who was originally selected as tribute. Throughout the book we get to see how grotesque the tradition of the Hunger Games is and how in a way it is comparable to reality television shows today like Survivor. We also get to see how even in a post apocalypse world, governments still control the every move of people and in a way force people to revert to primitive animalistic ways.

I wish I could say more, but then I would give it all away. All I can say is that the book is a very fast read. I read it all in three days. I highly recommend it, but don’t take my word for it. Click on the image below to watch the movie trailer and see if the upcoming movie, which by the way comes out in theaters on March 23, entices you enough to read the book.

**Cristy**

