BFF NecklaceI never really understood how some people could only have one or two very close friends. See, I have never had a hard time making friends and for the most part of my life I can say I’ve always been blessed with a large group of close friends (BFF’s). When people would tell me, “just wait and see, the older you get the smaller your circle of friends will become.” I always replied with, “No I don’t think that will ever be the case for me. I am very close to my friends. I can’t see us ever growing apart.”

What I should have said was, never, say never. While I still maintain very close relationships with some of my BFF’s, some even from childhood, I can’t help but to reflect on the fact that as I get older that group of friends is getting smaller.

At times it is disappointing to see how friendships dissolve, but it makes those friendships that still exist a bit stronger and valuable. There comes a point where you realize who sincerely cares about you and has your best interest at heart and vise versa. People who demand your friendship but don’t reciprocate it don’t really add much to your life.

I hate to compare friendships to shoes but I’m going to do it anyway…A good friend is like a comfy chancla. Always comfortable, no matter the situation while flaky friends are like $20 heels, when you first get them you think ooh what a sweet deal, but when the heel breaks on you in the middle of the dance floor on a Friday night, you think, aaaaaaah…my faithful and comfy chanclas would never leave me stranded on the dance floor.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is, while my group of friends is smaller, I appreciate them dearly. See, when it comes to BFF’s it’s the quality that matters not the quantity.

**Cristy**

