In general, our last few posts have revolved around nails so I thought  I’d keep the theme going. A few weeks ago as I waited for my Catalina/4th of July inspired nails to dry, I thought…there must be something to help the polish on my nails dry faster! See, I’ve heard many myths of how one can achieve dry nails quickly (using Pam, cold water, blow dryer etc.) but I’ve never tried any of these myself.

So I decided to put some of these methods to test. The four methods I tested were ice-cold water, Nail Polish Dryer by Beauty Secrets, Dove hairspray and good old air-drying. I applied two coats of polish to four nails on my left hand and then applied a different “drying agent” on each nail. I allowed the agent to sit on each nail for about five minutes and then I simply ran my right-hand thumbnail across each nail and this is what I found…

Method 1 | Ice-cold water: Dipping my finger in a bowl of ice-cold water for 5 minutes was a disaster. Not only was my finger unconscious for another 5 minutes but it was the least effective method. The polish was extra gooey and I’m sure my thumb didn’t appreciate being submerged in ice-cold water for so long.

Method 2 | Nail Polish Dryer by Beauty Secrets:  This aerosol spray gets an 11 out of 10! My nail was completely dry after five minutes. When I ran my fingernail across it, nothing happened…not a dent or scratch. I highly recommend this product; it’s effective, inexpensive ($3.49 for 8.5 oz) and easy to get a hold of. I purchased mine at a retail Sally Beauty supply shop, but the product can also be ordered on the Sally Beauty website.

Method 3 | Hairspray: For this method I used Dove hairspray…I must note that the hairspray I used did not come in an aerosol can, not sure if that makes a difference. Either way, save the hairspray for hair. This technique did not deliver; it was a bit more effective than the ice water but not worth it. It made the polish thick and gunky.

Method 4 | Air Dry: As most of us know, unless you’re using quick-dry polish, five minutes is not long enough for nails to air dry. Air dry came in second to ice-cold water. While the polish was not gunky or gooey after five minutes, it was just not dry enough to be able to go on with the day without nicking or scratching the polish. For perfect air-dry results I would recommend waiting at least 15 minutes.

These nail quick-dry trials answered some of my questions, but if you have another method that you’ve tried please share with us.   We’d love to hear what products/methods you have tried or use regularly.

–Cristy–

