Hello, my name is Cat and I have a problem… I am addicted watching make-up videos on YouTube! That’s right, you heard right – beauty videos on YouTube!

Most nights before falling asleep, you’ll see me in bed with my iPad resting on my chest, earphones securely place on my ears, watching “Beauty Guru’s” reviewing, giving tutorials, and sharing their favorite beauty related products on YouTube. One of the women I watch is Marlena (aka MakeUp Geek).

MakeupGeek 2013

Marlena has been sharing makeup and beauty video for five years on her channel and considers herself a Makeup Educator not necessarily a “Makeup Artist.” She also created an online store and a personal blog. Not too long ago, Marlena release her own makeup line.

Here are a few of the Makeup Geek shadows:

MakeupGeek 2013B

Let’s get to the point of this post. Over a year ago, I had the honor of personally meeting Marlena and the Makeup Geek team. I met them at an open casting call for models in Sacramento. No, no, I am not a model, but it was an opportunity I could not pass on. Fortunately, for me, I was selected as one of her models and recently was featured on the Makeup Geek website and YouTube channel. I wanted to share my experience with any fellow Makeup Geek fans!

My shoot was scheduled in the afternoon at Makeup Geek headquarters in Sacramento. I met her staff and they took my on a tour of their office/studio. They made sure I was comfortable and were so hospitable.

Yes, I was a little star struck to meet Marlena once again, but she’s so sweet and kind that right away I felt as though we were good friends working together on a project.

Marlena went on to explain the inspiration for the look – the packaging for Bath and Body Works Twilight Woods: a pretty mix of purplely pink with some rustic gold and bronzy colors. I almost hyperventilated because I would never dare to wear so much color on my eyelids, but Miss Makeup Geek knew what she was doing. The look came out to be a pretty, dramatic smoky eye, with huge flirty lashes.

See the entire tutorial below:

As a perk of the gig, I was mailed Makeup Geek eye shadows and a check, thank you Marlena! Here are the colors.

MakeupGeek 2013C

To learn more about Makeup Geek click here.

You should know, that I had a great time and I hope to be called back again (hint, hint, Marlena). The shoot took about 3 hours from beginning to end.

Thank you for visiting C to C,

CAT

 

