DIY tray 01

How to make your own tray from a picture frame. This is a really easy project and you only need a few items.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Picture frame
  • Spray paint
  • Fabric

Let’s begin.

Step one: select a frame. I bought mine at a thrift store for $4. I selected one with a “fancy” ornate frame.

Step two: spray paint the frame (be sure to remove the glass prior to painting). I needed my frame to be neutral so I went with all white. To get full coverage on the frame you may need to paint it with multiple coats… My frame was originally a dark wooden color and it took about four coats of white spray paint before it was solid white.

Step three: select a piece of fabric. This fabric will be the background of your tray. The size of the fabric should be one inch bigger than the length and width of glass of your frame. For example if your piece of glass is 8in. by 10in. cut the fabric 9in. by 11in.

Step four: once the paint is dry place the glass back on the frame and the fabric on to the frame. Be sure to secure the glass, fabric and any backing in the frame.

Step five: enjoy your easy diy tray.

The tray sits on my dresser, here’s what it looks like.

DIY Tray

Thanks for visiting,

CAT

 

