OatmealChoc01

I must admit, I have a sweet tooth that is usually only satisfied by chocolate. A few days ago I was craving chocolate chip cookies and while gathering the typical ingredients I saw a recipe printed on the bag of flour. I put the recipe to the test and I was pleasantly surprised. The cookies were moist, soft and chewy (my mouth is salivating as I write this post because those cookies were delicious. Wish I still had some).

Ingredients Needed:

  • 1 1/4 Cups of packed brown sugar
  • 2 sticks of butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 1/2 cups of unbleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Optional ingredients: shaved coconut, flax seeds

I actually divided the cookie dough in two parts and added the optional ingredients to one part, they turned really good too.

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the brown sugar, softened butter, vanilla and egg.
  3. Add oats, flour, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Once all those ingredients are mixed well, add chocolate chips.
  5. On a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart.
  6. Bake for 9 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool slightly and remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

OatmealChoc02

The final step is to enjoy these delicious cookies. I love serving warm cookies with a scoop of ice cream, yum.

OatmealChoc03

Hope you try the recipe, enjoy.

