Breakfast sandwich 05

I absolutely love weekends! Not because they’re a break from my Monday through Friday routine, aka work, but because… I get to eat a real breakfast! Yes, because of the food, LOL. During the workweek breakfast usually means a banana or Greek yogurt. Yeah, not super exciting, but it is convenient.

Weekends mean delicious breakfast, YAY!

I love eggs, bacon, sausage and hash browns, but in order to be semi-healthy I have to limit my intake. When I want a healthier breakfast, I’ll make myself a veggie omelette or a healthy breakfast sandwich.

Yesterday, I kicked off my weekend by attending a Yoga class at the gym. To continue on the health-kick, I made myself a yummy breakfast sandwich, which I will share the recipe with you here.

Breakfast sandwich 02

Ingredients are:

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread
  • 2 eggs
  • a handful of spinach
  • a few lettuce leaves (which I grew in my garden)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • Sea salt and Black Pepper

Breakfast sandwich 03

Directions:

  1. In a small frying pan, add a little olive oil or butter, and fry your eggs.
  2. When the translucent liquid becomes white, break the yolk by poking it with your spatula.
  3. Then sprinkle a little sea salt and black pepper. Because I like some heat in my food, I also add red pepper flakes.
  4. Wait, a few more seconds and add your spinach (as seen above), flip the eggs, let it cook for a little longer until the yolks are solid.
  5. Once the yolk is fully cooked, fold eggs in half and let them rest (move your pan away from the burner) for a few seconds while preparing the bread.
  6. Take your bread slices and spread the avocado. Ripen avocado will make this process easier.
  7. Once you’ve spread the avocado on to your bread, add lettuce and tomato slices on each side.
  8. Place the eggs onto the your bread and sandwich it.

Breakfast sandwich 04

Ta da, now you have a delicious and healthy breakfast sandwich!

Breakfast sandwich 06

If you’d like to liven up your sandwich, add a layer of crispy bacon strips. Yup, bacon makes everything better… and cheese! But if you want to be healthy do without.

I promise, you will love this sandwich and enjoy it to the last bite. Don’t forget to add a little spice, it’s good for your health 🙂

Breakfast 02

P.s. that’s Tapatio sauce on my sandwich. I told you, I love me some spicy food.

