Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I love repurposing old items, such as picture frames, mirrors, or empty candle jars. Call it frugalness or craftiness, either way I am okay with both.

About five months ago, Ryan and I purchased our very first home, which we love. We moved from a one-bedroom apartment to a three-bedroom home with an extra workshop room in the backyard. We have a lot more space, yay! However, the one thing our home does not have is large walk-in closets, which our apartment did. Anyway, I took over one of the extra bedrooms and turned that into my “Wo-Cave,” aka office and closet. Ryan got the workshop room in the back, which will be his “Man Cave.” We’re both happy with that arrangement.

I envisioned my Wo-Cave being a serene and Zen like space where I could be inspired to write, read, and get ready in the mornings for work. It was supposed to be a place where I could get lost in time and just be free to do whatever I wanted. I wanted the décor to be feminine yet not too girly – hot pinks were not an option. So, I decided I’d paint the walls white to match the furniture and then have an accent wall with white and grey vertical stripes. A sunshine “happy” yellow would be the accent color in the room.

Something like this:

WoCave01

Five months later, the room is plain white – everything is white – furniture, walls, curtains. Everything!

Here’s where the mirror comes in, initially it was supposed to be a pop of color on the accent wall. BUT, I had no idea painting a room was so much work! It took me about three days and multiple trips to the home improvement store to finish painting the walls. After that experience, I did not want to add stripes to the wall, which it’s why it remains white. Initially I wanted the accent wall to be white with grey stripes and the mirror frame to be a “happy” yellow – pop of color on that wall. Scratch that idea!

Now, the mirror is white, on white with more white.

Here’s how I repurposed the mirror giving it a new and more modern look.

Repurpose an Old Mirror04

You will need spray paint, painters tape, old newspapers, and the piece you’re going to repurpose.

Repurpose an Old Mirror01

  1. Cover the mirror glass portion and secure it with the painters tape. Create two layers to prevent paint from bleed through the paper and getting on the glass.
  2. Spray your paint on to the piece you’re working with. Give it several coats of paint to make it one solid color. I did three layers of paint.
  3. Let it fully dry for at least 24hours prior to hanging it on your wall.

Repurpose an Old Mirror03

That’s it, super easy way to repurpose an old mirror!

